A Big Walk host is the keeper of the save game and all of your progress. So, the host of your group will need to start playing first.
Once a host starts a session, the other players can then connect to it. When the host stops the session, all other players will be disconnected. If you want to continue your journey later where you left off last time, you’ll need your host to host again!